One Hundred Years of Solitude

"One Hundred Years of Solitude" is a novel published by Gabriel Garcia Marquez in 1969. It is considered to be one of his best works. The plot is based on a hundred years history of a made up town called Macondo. We live the history of the town through seven generations of the family Buendia. All of their incredible events are showed as ordinary, everyday life events. On the other … [Read more...]

Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliette is an epic love story whose plot is set in a small Italian city Verona. A great hatred between the powerful families Capuleti and Montecchi was carried out through generations. Genre: romantic tragedy Time: 14th/15th century Place: Verona and Mantova Book Summary The plot begins on a warm night in July when the Capuletis servants stroll through town … [Read more...]

A Christmas Carol

"A Christmas Carol" written by Charles Dickens was published as a novella on December 19th of 1843. It was an instant success and has been popularized and has never been out of print. It was written at a time when people were beginning to sing carols and make celebrate Christmas with parties. In 1838 Victoria began her reign and married Prince Albert in 1840. Prince Albert brought his … [Read more...]

Walden and Civil Disobedience

"Walden and Civil Disobedience" is a collection that includes two of the works of the famous American writer Henry David Thoreau. "Walden", perhaps Thoreau's most famous work, was published in 1854. Originally published under the title, "Walden; or, Life in the Woods", the novel experienced some success after it's release but went out of print after five short years only having sold … [Read more...]

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, Written by Himself

"Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, Written by Himself" is a memoir published by Frederick Douglass in 1845. The book tells the story of Douglass's early life as a slave in Maryland. His memoir begins with his birth as the son of a slave woman, and probably, the master of the plantation. The story follows the cruel and brutal treatments of him and his fellow … [Read more...]

Flowers for Algernon

"Flowers for Algernon" is a novel written by Daniel Keyes and published in 1966. The book received critical acclaim despite some backlash for it's representation of sexual themes and is still considered one of the classics of the 20th century. It has been adapted a variety of times including television, radio, theater and an Academy-Award winning film named "Charly" in 1968. The plot of … [Read more...]

The Poisonwood Bible

"The Poisonwood Bible" is a novel written by Barbara Kingsolver and published in 1998. The book was an immediate success and was chosen for Oprah's Book Club in 1999. It was also a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in fiction that same year and in the year 2000 won the South African Boeke Prize. The novel tells the story of the five women of the Price family and each new chapter is told … [Read more...]

Ethan Frome

"Ethan Frome", published in 1911 by Edith Wharton, is the story of a man who is trapped by duty. This novella is different from the kind of books Wharton usually wrote involving the upper classes from which she came. Ethan Frome begins with an Engineer who is temporarily staying in a small town in Massachusetts. He becomes interested in the only character that stands out in the town of … [Read more...]

The Last of the Mohicans

"The Last of the Mohicans" is the second book in a series written by James Fenimore Cooper and published in 1840. These books were part of the Leatherstocking Tales pentalogy. It was preceded by The Pioneers, published in 1823, and The Prairie, published in 1827. "The Pathfinder" is the next in the series and published in 1840, fourteen years later. Set during the French and Indian … [Read more...]

Maus: A Survivors Tale Part Two

"Maus: A Survivors Tale Part Two - And Here My Troubles Began" is the second in a two-part graphic novel series that was written by Art Spiegelman. The comic was originally published in monthly comic strips in the magazine Raw from December 1980 to 1991 when the magazine was disbanded. Every chapter but the last one was published in the magazine. After the series was finished, … [Read more...]